Pro Wrestling Only

Chris Benoit vs. Triple H vs. Shawn Michaels

Guest cawthon777

Guest cawthon777

The Buildup

My family is Catholic but from the age of 10 my religion has been wrestling. Week after week, month after month, and year after year I studied the matches and history of the greatest sport on earth. Stars came and went during that time. Personal favorites of mine Davey Boy Smith, Curt Hennig, and Owen Hart passed away. My passion remained. A new wave of talent like Shelton Benjamin, Batista, and John Cena appeared on the scene. My passion remained. In 2004, it was my passion that finally brought me to the Vatican of the WWE ? Madison Square Garden.

It was one of those rare occasions where things just happened to fall into place. While watching WrestleMania XIX on pay-per-view, I paid close attention to the promo which ran for the following year?s event. New York City. Madison Square Garden. March 14, 2004. I had been hoping to plan a visit to NYC for the summer of 04 but surely wouldn?t mind pushing that up a few months, if my college schedule allowed. Surprisingly enough, it did. March 14th happened to be the first Sunday of my spring break.

In September 03 I purchased my tickets, spending just over $200 apiece for the floor seats. From that date forward, the buildup to Mania had already begun in my mind. But the anticipation only grew as the weeks and months passed.

It grew as singles pushes for Chris Benoit, John Cena, and Eddie Guerrero began on Smackdown. It grew as Benoit took Brock Lesnar to the limit. It grew as Benoit earned a spot in the Royal Rumble. It grew as he broke all records and outlasted the remaining 29 men to win the Rumble and earn the world title shot at Mania. It grew as Eddie Guerrero upset Brock Lesnar for the WWE Championship.