Pro Wrestling Only

[2009-01-11-TNA-Genesis] Alex Shelley vs Chris Sabin

Superstar Sleeze

Alex Shelley vs Chris Sabin - TNA Genesis 2009 Vacant X Division Championship

Very innovative layout for an American match no classical heat segment or comeback. To my surprise, I thought these two made it work and they put on a terrific match. It was an interesting blend of lucha, NOAH juniors and American Indy wrestling. I am not a proponent that this style become the norm, but if one wanted to live in a post-babyface/heel world I would say this is the blueprint to make it work. I always think it is funny when people say there are not babyfaces and heels anymore in wrestling. If that was the case, there would not be heat segments and comebacks. Yet every match on the RAW I just watched had a heat segment where the heel dominated the babyface followed by a comeback from the babyface. Babyfaces and heels are very real, folks. Now this match tosses it out the window. It very easily could have devolved into a spotfest so why didnt it? Urgency and investment. I hesitate to use the word "struggle" there were still too many things that were easy. However, you could feel that these two men were invested in winning the match. It was not about showing off. It was about winning. There was also no walking through sequences. Everything felt urgent and nothing felt taken for granted. I thought they did a great job establishing that they were tag partners and friends with the mirroring and symmetry. The lucha mat work, arm drags, single leg scoops were great. I loved how they created that Sabin dive to the outside. It was a series of counters and all of sudden Sabin sees an opening and dives out. I was not a huge fan of the setup but Shelley's somersault legdrop was cool. They also added in stiff strikes. There was some great KENTA offense. The Tiger Suplex block and then hit was great. The nearfalls had bite. The spots were impressive and not just modified slams or overly choreographed