Pro Wrestling Only

[2014-01-26-WWE-Royal Rumble] Royal Rumble

Loss

• 2 weeks later...

Didn't like it that much and not just because there was no Bryan, although I didn't have much faith for it to happen in the first place.

My major issue came with the fact that they didn't know how to pace everything out. Punk in as the ironman at #1 doesn't really lead anywhere. Reigns comes in and starts ruling ass, but it was a lot of peaks/valleys-type stuff, but with not enough peaks. The other problem was that outside of Punk and Batista, there wasn't anyone else in the Rumble except Bryan (if they put him there) that were seen as threats to win it. Reigns as a wild card was a nice touch, but at the same time, once it was him and Batista, it was more about wanting him to win than thinking he'd actually win it. I guess that's what WWE wanted in the first place, though. If you bought into Bryan being in the match, then the suspense helped, but it also made the match seem worse.

• 1 year later...

While coming nowhere near the MOTYC of the previous Royal Rumble match, this one was sure quite interesting. For someone who started the match and got to the final four, CM Punk did very little and seemed like a second-rate background character in this match. I actually wonder if that was intentional on his part and even the company's part. Just seemed too convenient to see him take a backseat and let numerous other participants shine.

There were some definite fun moments in this match. Kofi Kingston had TWO dramatic escapes from near-elimination. JBL was a surprise entrant and was immediately eliminated by Roman Reigns. Sheamus returned from injury to the surprise of nobody. C'mon, Sheamus is a fucking worker like everyone else, so there was no reason to believe him when he said he wouldn't be ready for this show.