Pro Wrestling Only

AJPW v. NJPW - A historical perspective

MoS

I am a newbie to puroresu. I have just started following 90s AJPW consistently.

While I have been blown away by what I have seen, as someone who is a mark for the business side of things, I am very interested to know, since the inception of the two companies, which of the two companies was bigger and was drawing more money. I would like to know throughout their period of existence, which company was on top; when they got replaced; what were the periods of dominance of both companies; when and how they exchanged the numero uno spot in Japan.

Bear in mind that I do not know if other companies ever beat these two and were at the top, although I have heard that UWF and later NOAH were ahead of these two at various points of time. So, if someone could fill in the blanks for me with regard to the other companies, I would be extremely grateful as well.

Thanks in advance!

Hopefully someone more knowledgeable and capable than me will chime in! I'll give a couple of points of what I know though from recent years:

- AJPW was basically the company in Japan from as early as the late 1980's until the mid 1990's. Certainly following Baba's death and Misawa's exodus, the company was never again what it once was.

- NJPW only really begun it's resurgence in the latter part of the 00's following the departure of Inoki and the end of the Yukes relationship. Basically, once Gedo and Jado took over the book and Bushiroad purchased the company, everything became as awesome as it currently is.

Both were started because of Japan Pro Wrestling, where Antonio Inoki and Giant Baba joined in 1960. Baba was initially a big star after the death of RIkidozan, while Inoki wanted to get out on his own. In 1971, Inoki planned to takeover JWA, but was fired instead, which led him to creating New Japan. Baba straight up left and created All Japan at around the same time.