Pro Wrestling Only

The One-Offs of New Japan World

William Bologna

A New Japan World subscription opens up a world of content. Want to see more of today's top stars? They have 1,407 Hiroshi Tanahashi matches. Are you interested in the decades-long history of the King of Sport? Well over six hundred Fujinami vs. Choshu matches.

But I like the weird stuff. You got a classic Kenta Kobashi Triple Crown match? Nah, I'd rather watch Johnny Smith take on the Headhunters.

So my favorite thing to do when I have an NJPW World subscription is go all the way to the bottom of the tags list and try to figure out what the hell is going on. That's what I'll be doing in this thread. We have 292 wrestlers with one listing (each) on the service. I won't get to all of them. Some of them aren't actually there. But there's still lots to check out: Dudes from GLEAT. Misspellings. Jesse Ventura. Women. The Great Antonio. Let's get started with . .  .

Dino Bravo vs. Abdullah the Butcher November 5, 1981

I remember Dino from my Hulkamania-plagued childhood, but this is the first time I've watched one of his matches on purpose.

He comes out with Dick Murdoch, while Abdullah is accompanied by Bad News Allen, looking quite hipsterish in a goofy cardigan and t-shirt that says, "Pro Wrestling." He's also got a busted finger, and I gather that's why we spend ten minutes sorting things out before the match starts. It appears that this was supposed to be a tag match, but with Allen down to nine fingers we're going to make it a single.

This is pretty contentious - everyone except Abdullah is yapping, and WWF president Hisashi Shinma has to come out to calm everyone down. I can follow what's going on because, in one of the great linguistic coincidences, "singles match" in Japanese is "single matchy." 

While they argue about this, the Butcher is standing perfectly still and sweating like a horse in church. He also looks like he's already bleeding. You'd think we were five minutes in.