Pro Wrestling Only

Happy Thanksgiving, PWO!

Coffey

The Thanksgiving holiday is actually the reason that I'm a professional wrestling fan. 

When I was a kid, my parents would of course have the whole family over for Thanksgiving, to celebrate the holiday & have the big feast. The location of which family was hosting the holiday would change annually but one thing was consistent: there were a lot of kids & the adults wanted the kids out of their hair. So, how was this accomplished? WWF Survivor Series: The Thanksgiving night tradition! 

I immediately became a big Hulk Hogan & Ultimate Warrior fan & started following WWF television on weekends & when I could stay up, WWF Saturday Night's Main Event. Back during the late 1980's, Survivor Series was actually on Thanksgiving day. Purchasing Pay-Per-View events back then, you had to go to the cable company & "rent" the box that you would hook up to your television that would allow you to get the PPV. So I would sit with my brother & my cousin Joe while we would all watch the wrestling show while the rest of the family would chat, drink & whatever else. 

Now, as an adult, I'm very nostalgic for those old Survivor Series shows & I think I'm going to put on a couple of them today. I would much rather watch some 1980's WWF than the Detroit Lions. 

So I just wanted to wish all the members of Pro Wrestling Only a Happy Thanksgiving & ask you to share any pro-wrestling related Thanksgiving memories you may have! Hope everyone has a good holiday, I know a lot of people get today off. :)