Pro Wrestling Only

DVD #3: MS-1 vs Sangre Chicana

Loss

• 2 weeks later...

As a relative Lucha novice, I'm pleased to say this is one of the few Lucha matches that I seem to "get" on the first viewing. Lucha has this stereotype to people who aren't familiar with it of being little more than a bunch of whacked out holds and wrestlers constantly diving onto each other.

This is the perfect match to show to that crowd, because it's very simple, yet very effective. MS easily winning the first fall by busting open Sangre and mostly refusing to let him in the ring and kicking at his head. Sangre getting revenge in the second fall and causing MS to bleed. The third fall featuring them both putting over the fatigue and blood loss, and I really dug MS constantly going for pins even after simple moves, but going for too much and being forced to submit. Tons of blood, good storytelling, what else do you need?

I've watched this plenty of times before, and my opinion is pretty much the same after watching it again. Do I still think it's the best match I've ever seen? Possibly, I don't know. My opinions change all the time. But it's still near the top.

It's a great match, no doubt. The bloodlust between the two feels absolutely real. Even the bad lighting adds to the feeling that you've dropped in on a seedy, back-ally fight to the death. But I'm interested to hear why it might be your favorite match ever, Loss. It didn't engage me at that level, maybe because I don't know a ton about either guy or what led up to the match.

What a seedy match. Dimly lit, dirty arena, rabid crowd, gallons of blood, tinny sound, you've got to love it. I wouldn't put it up there as a real classic, it reminds me of a more athletic Slaughter/Sheik boot camp match. There's a bit too much repetition, what with the suicide dives and MS-1 in general. Otherwise, it's really good, from someone who knows little about the era or the wrestlers. ***3/4