Pro Wrestling Only

Weighted Scale, options?

Grimmas

I'm no expert on this, but why does it need to be weighted? When I think about my own ballot, I don't think of the top three or ten as some roped off area.

People are going to be a LOT more careful in the top 3 or so. The different between 1 and 5 is bigger than the difference between 96 and 100.

That's interesting. I don't necessarily see a huge gap between my No. 1 and my No. 13 or whatever, and I'm not sure I'd want my top couple of votes to carry exponential weight. But if that's out of step with the way most people see it, that's fine. I guess a weighted system makes it harder for wrestlers to dominate just by appearing on every ballot.

I strongly prefer a weighted system.

The Laprade method minus the subtraction of points if someone doesn't appear on every ballot is the one I prefer.

I'm not violently opposed to doing it with points allotted via inverse order of placement, but the weighted system puts value in who people actually see as the greatest of the great, and also serves as something of a balancing act regarding those who are writing off entire styles from their personal lists for one reason or another.

I strongly prefer a weighted system.

The Laprade method minus the subtraction of points if someone doesn't appear on every ballot is the one I prefer.

I'm not violently opposed to doing it with points allotted via inverse order of placement, but the weighted system puts value in who people actually see as the greatest of the great, and also serves as something of a balancing act regarding those who are writing off entire styles from their personal lists for one reason or another.

I can't find a description of that system online, could you lay it out?

From a thread at Classics:

About your point system, I wouldn't do from 100 to 1. I've been doing these kind of rankings for Quebec wrestling every year for 10 years, and I based myself on something the NHL did 15 years ago.